CPME 220 and 230 Revisions in Progress

CPME 220 and 230 Revision Process to Begin – Specialty Board Recognition Committee Ad Hoc Committee Appointed

In March 2021, the APMA House of Delegates approved a resolution moving the Joint Committee on the Recognition of Specialty Boards (JCRSB) to become a standing committee of the Council on Podiatric Medical Education. Subsequently, CPME adopted Bylaw amendments at its October 2021 and April 2022 meetings in order to comply with the APMA action. The Bylaw revisions included moving the JCRSB to a standing committee of the Council and restructuring the JCRSB representation.

To reflect that the JCRSB is now a standing committee of the Council, CPME changed the name of the JCRSB to the Specialty Board Recognition Committee (SBRC). Further, as part of this process, the underlying JCRSB/SBRC documents (CPME 220, Criteria and Guidelines for Recognition of a Specialty Board for Podiatric Medical Practice, and CPME 230, Procedures for Recognition of a Specialty Board for Podiatric Medical Practice) must be updated to reflect the new CPME/SBRC Bylaw revisions.

Per the CPME Bylaws, the review of these documents will be led by an Ad Hoc Advisory Committee, which will begin in fall 2022 and occur six years following the adoption of the documents. An interim review by the Specialty Board Recognition Committee will be completed three years following the adoption of revisions resulting from the previous Ad Hoc Advisory Committee review.

SBRC Ad Hoc Committee

The Council has appointed the following members:

Kieran Mahan, DPM (chair); Professor Emeritus, Department of Podiatric Surgery, Temple University School of Podiatric Medicine, Philadelphia, PA

Kathy Kreiter (ABFAS representative); ABFAS CEO/Executive Director, San Francisco, CA

Gina Painter, DPM (ABPM representative); ABPM Interim Executive Director and Medical Director of the Montana VA Billings Health Care Center, Billings, MT

Lawrence Ramunno, MD, MPH, MBA (health-care representative); Chief Clinical Officer Friend Health, Chicago, IL

James Sang, DPM (double-boarded practitioner); Associate Section Chief of Podiatry, VA Boston Healthcare System, Boston, MA

Kara Schmitt, PhD (psychometrician member); Consultant, Reading, MA

Harry Schneider, DPM (representing CPME); Program Director, Cambridge Health Alliance, Cambridge, MA

Melanie Violand, DPM (representing CPME); Associate Dean, Arizona College of Podiatric Medicine, Midwestern University, Glendale, AZ

James Christina, DPM (ex-officio member); Executive Director and CEO of APMA, Bethesda, MD

Keith Cook, DPM (ex-officio member); Director, Podiatry Department, University Hospital, Newark, NJ

Alyssa Stephenson, DPM (ex-officio member); Podiatrist, Carl T. Hayden Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Phoenix, AZ


The SBRC Ad Hoc Committee held its first in person meeting on Friday, November 11, 2022 and will continue to meet throughout 2023 via videoconference and in-person meetings.