Panel for Milestone Education

Blue Ribbon Panel for Milestone Education in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Residencies

CPME has appointed a Blue Ribbon Panel for Milestone Education in Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Residencies. The charge of the Panel, as delegated by the Council, is as follows:

  • Study clinical competency and milestones
  • Develop a recommendation to the Council on the educational benefit and implementation of milestones in residencies in podiatric medicine and surgery, given the variety of resources available at the sponsoring institutions of these programs
  • Create milestones for podiatric medicine and podiatric surgery and determine the best way to implement these in podiatric residency programs with different levels of resources

In addition to the above, the Panel is encouraged to create recommendations on how to train faculty in the use of these milestones.

Members of the Panel

Michael Trepal, DPM (Chair), New York – Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean at the New York College of Podiatric Medicine. Program Director for the PMSR/RRA program at SUNY Downstate. Immediate former Chair of CPME.

Jeffrey M Brewer, PharmD, BCACP, Albany, NY – Director of Professional Affairs; past residency director; residency preceptor; former Chair, Residency and Fellowship Committee.

Tim Ford, DPM, Louisville, KY – Associate Professor, Department of Orthopaedics University of Louisville School of Medicine. Director, University of Louisville PMSR/RRA and Fellowship programs. Former Chair, CPME and RRC. CPME residency and college evaluator. University of Louisville ACGME accreditation subcommittee member. President/Chief of the Medical Staff University of Louisville Health. University of Louisville Leadership and Innovation in Academic Medicine (LIAM) Graduate.

Charles Hatem, MD, Cambridge, MA – Retired from adult primary care internal medicine and former Chair, Department of Medical Education/Mount Auburn Hospital. Responsibilities included medical student and resident education; established and directed fellowships in medical education for Harvard faculty (1998–2021).

Neil Kothari, MD, FACP, Newark, NJ – Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School; former Internal Medicine Residency Director, Rutgers NJMS; member of ACGME Internal Medicine Milestones 2.0 Workgroup; residency evaluator; and clinical competency committee member.

Tiffany Murano, MD, New York, NY – Vice Chair of Education, Department of Emergency Medicine, Columbia University. Associate Designated Institutional Official, NY-Presbyterian Hospital. ACGME EM Milestones 2.0 Working Group member; ACGME Emergency Medicine Review Committee; President, Council of Residency Directors in Emergency Medicine.

Michael E. Munson, DPM, Ann Arbor, MI – Fellowship Director, University of Michigan, Research Fellowship in Limb Preservation, Wound Care, and Diabetes-related lower extremity complications. University of Michigan Medical Education Scholar.

Aksone Nouvong, DPM, Los Angeles – RRC member; residency program evaluator; Associate Program Director, PMSR/RRA program at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA); Chief of Podiatric Surgery, Olive View-UCLA; Interim Deputy Chief of Surgery at VA Greater Los Angeles; Member of Board of Trustees at OVMC-UCLA Education and Research Institute. 

Joshua Rhodenizer DPM, Detroit, MI – Program Director, Ascension St. John Hospital, member, CPME Accreditation Committee, residency program evaluator.

John (J.T.) Marcoux, DPM, Boston – Ex-officio, CPME vice-chair; Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. CPME member, Chair of Residency Review Committee (RRC), residency evaluator.

Keith Cook, DPM, Newark, NJ – Director, Podiatry Department University Hospital, CPME Chair, RRC member, Program Director, University Hospital, residency evaluator.

Consultant to the Panel: Emily Cook, DPM, Boston.