11400 Rockville Pike, Suite 220
Rockville, MD 20852


CPME Portal

Joint Committee on the Recognition of Specialty Boards

The Joint Committee on the Recognition of Specialty Boards (JCRSB) is responsible for granting initial and continuing recognition of specialty boards in the podiatric medical profession, formulating criteria and procedures for recognition of specialty boards subject to the final approval of the Council and, in accordance with the broad policies for certification as adopted by the House of Delegates, exploring areas of mutual cooperation to the benefit of the recognized boards, the podiatric medical profession, and the public.

Composition of JCRSB includes two representatives of the APMA House of Delegates, to be elected by the house; one representative of CPME, to be appointed by CPME; one representative of the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery (ABFAS), to be appointed by ABFAS; one representative of the American Board of Podiatric Medicine (ABPM), to be appointed by ABPM; one representative of the public, to be recommended by CPME and confirmed by the House; and one representative from the health care community (hospitals, managed care agencies, HMOs, etc.), to be recommended by CPME and confirmed by the House. Terms are staggered and extend for two years. Members may not serve more than three full or partial terms. JCRSB is empowered to elect its own chair on an annual basis. The chair is responsible for providing a report at meetings of the Council. CPME funds the attendance at meetings of JCRSB for representatives of the House of Delegates, public, health care community, and CPME, and provides a modest honorarium for representatives from the public and health care community.

Specialty Board Recognition Committee Members

Alyssa Stephenson, DPM; Chair (CPME member)
Carl T. Hayden Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Phoenix, AZ

Tyson E. Green, DPM (APMA House of Delegates representative)
Program Director
Christus Saint Patrick Hospital
Lake Charles, LA

William Harris IV, DPM (APMA House of Delegates representative)
Private Practitioner
Lancaster, SC

Daniel G. Murphy, MD, MBA (public representative)
Chairman & Director of Quality
Department of Emergency Medicine, SBH Health System
Affiliated Medical Professor, Department of Clinical Medicine
City University of New York School of Medicine
Bronx, NY

Lawrence Ramunno, MD, MPH, MBA (health-care community representative)
Chief Clinical Officer
Friend Health
Chicago, IL

James Sang, DPM (APBM and ABFAS certified practitioner or residency director)
Private Practice
Boston, MA

Kara Schmitt, PhD (psychometrician)
Reading, MA

Harry P. Schneider, DPM (CPME member)
Residency Program Director
Cambridge Health Alliance
Cambridge, MA

Melanie Violand, DPM (CPME member)
Associate Dean
Arizona College of Podiatric Medicine Midwestern University
Glendale, AZ

SBRC Staff
Heather Stagliano, DHSc, CPME Director